Charter (english)

Charter for the abolition of surrogate motherhood

Substitute motherhood, or surrogacy, which is practised in several countries, is the loaning of women’s bodies in order to give birth to children who will be handed over to those who ordered them. Far from being just an individual act, this social practise is orchestrated by human reproduction companies, in an organized production system involving laboratories, doctors, lawyers, agencies etc. This system needs women as means of production, so that pregnancy and childbirth become a functional process that has a use value and a commercial value and is part of the globalization of human body markets.

In countries where no law protects them, women’s bodies are turned into resources for the reproduction industry. Some women consent to enter into a contract which will alienate their health, their lives and their selves, under multiple pressures, family or gender based, economic, or geopolitical.

Substitute motherhood makes the child a product with an exchange value, so that the distinction between a person and a thing is cancelled out. But respect for the human body and gender equality should prevail over individual interests.

Therefore, in the name of human rights, We, the signatories of the Charter:

–          Denounce the utilisation of human beings whose intrinsic value and dignity are done away with in favour of their use value and exchange value

–          Refuse the merchandizing of women’s and children’s bodies 

–          Call on France and other European countries to respect the international conventions for the protection of human rights  that they have ratified and to oppose firmly any form of legalization of surrogate motherhood at a national or international level

In the name of the equal dignity of all human beings, we also call on them to act firmly to abolish the practise of surrogacy at an international level, in particular by promoting the elaboration, adoption and effective implementation of an international convention for the abolition of substitute motherhood.

 Sign the Charter

Charte

Charte pour l’abolition universelle de la maternité de substitution

La maternité de substitution, dite « Gestation Pour Autrui » (GPA), pratiquée dans divers pays, est une mise à disposition du corps des femmes pour donner naissance à des enfants qui seront remis à leurs commanditaires.

Loin de n’être qu’un geste individuel, cette pratique sociale est mise en œuvre par des entreprises de reproduction humaine,  dans un système organisé de production, incluant des laboratoires, médecins, avocats, agences etc. Ce système a besoin de femmes en tant que moyens de production de sorte que la grossesse et l’accouchement deviennent des processus fonctionnels dotés d’une valeur d’usage et d’une valeur marchande et s’inscrivent dans le cadre de la globalisation des marchés du corps humain.

Là où aucune loi ne le protège, le corps des femmes est requis comme ressource pour l’industrie et les marchés de la reproduction. Certaines femmes consentent à s’engager dans un contrat qui aliène leur santé, leur vie et leur personne, sous des pressions multiples : rapports de domination familiaux, sexistes, économiques,  géopolitiques.

Enfin, la maternité de substitution fait de l’enfant un produit avec valeur d’échange, de sorte que la distinction entre la personne et la chose s’en trouve annulée. Le respect du corps humain et l’égalité entre les femmes et les hommes doivent prévaloir sur les intérêts particuliers.

En conséquence, au nom des droits de la personne humaine, Nous, signataires de la Charte:

  • dénonçons l’utilisation des êtres humains dont la valeur intrinsèque et la dignité  sont éliminées  au profit d’une valeur d’usage ou d’une valeur d’échange,
  • refusons la marchandisation du corps des femmes et des enfants,
  • appelons la France et les autres pays européens à  respecter les conventions internationales de protection des droits humains et de l’enfant dont ils sont signataires, à s’opposer fermement à toute forme de légalisation de la maternité de substitution sur le plan national ou international.

Nous les appelons en outre, au nom de l’égale dignité de tous les êtres humains, à agir avec fermeté pour faire abolir cette pratique au niveau international, notamment en promouvant la rédaction, l’adoption et la mise en œuvre efficace d’une convention internationale d’abolition de la maternité de substitution.

Signer la Charte